Saturday, 1 June 2019

The Post-Cistercian Monastery Complex in Rudy

The Cistercian Abbey in Rudy is a former Romanesque-Gothic abbey in the Silesian Voivodeship. Its history dates back to the second half of the 13th century. The efficient economy of the Cistercians in Rudy from the very beginning of their presence meant that in a short time they established eight new villages, ran an orderly agricultural economy, colonizing wild areas. They dealt with brewing, beekeeping, as well as coal and tar production. In the valley of the Ruda river, they established ponds in which they ran fish farms. They built a system of canals and channels thanks to which iron, copper, and glass works were functioning.

In January 1945 the church and the palace were seriously damaged and burned by the Soviet army. The fire destroyed the palace, and in the church violated the main structural elements. After the war, only the church was rebuilt, and the ruins of the palace were only protected by collapsing.

The reconstruction of the post-Cistercian complex in Rudy in the first years after the war was slow and not effective. Only when in 1998 the property was transferred to the diocese of Gliwice, intensive reconstruction and renovation of the monastery and palace rooms began.

Nowadays, the abbey functions as The Post-Cistercian Monastery Complex, which combines the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Humility and the Educational Center of the Diocese of Gliwice.

 The Post-Cistercian Monastery Complex in Rudy

Location:

No comments:

Post a comment